Back to All Events

Chineke! Orchestra: Coleridge-Taylor, Bruch & Beethoven

  • Queen Elizabeth Hall, Southbank Centre Belvedere Rd, Lambeth London SE1 8XX United Kingdom (map)
formal_compositeCredit Eric Richmond and Joe Swift.jpg

Coleridge-Taylor: Othello Suite, Op.79
Bruch: Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor
Beethoven: Symphony No.7

Enchanting incidental music by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor leads into Beethoven’s gigantic Seventh Symphony, on the 250th anniversary of his birth.

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor’s Othello Suite is taken from incidental music written for a production of the play in 1911. It features the bewitching ‘Children’s Intermezzo’.

Former BBC New Generation Artist Tai Murray has been a key member of Chineke! since its inception and returns as soloist in Bruch’s ever-popular Violin Concerto No 1 in G minor.

The celebrated violinist Joseph Joachim, who played all four of the great German violin concertos by Beethoven, Brahms, Mendelssohn and Bruch, said on his 75th birthday in 1906 that Bruch’s was ‘the richest and most enchanting of the four’.

Tai Murray led the Chineke! Orchestra in its first concert in September 2015, when it performed Beethoven’s Symphony No.7.

Chineke! is delighted to be playing this great work again nearly five years later, in the 250th anniversary of the composer’s birth.


Chineke! Orchestra
Fawzi Haimor conductor
Tai Murray violin